Tansy Davies: Forest (A Concerto for Four Horns)

British composer, Tansy Davies, has been commissioned by Esa-Pekka Salonen and the Philharmonia Orchestra to compose a concerto for four horns, to premiere as part of the Philharmonia's "Inspirations" series in late February 2017. We travelled with Tansy to Bedgebury Pinetum in Kent, one of the locations that inspired her new concerto, "Forest." "Forest" explores how we, as humans, can search for a dialogue with nature as we move further and further apart in our modern world. Using the theme of the hunt and inspired by the hunting horn's roots in the forests of France, this new concerto promises to be a thrilling musical experience.

The Philharmonia Orchestra will perform "Forest":
21 February 2017, The Anvil, Basingstoke: http://www.philharmonia.co.uk/concerts/1480/basingstoke/the_anvil/21_february_2017/salonen_conducts_strauss
23 February, Royal Festival Hall, London: http://www.philharmonia.co.uk/concerts/1390/london/royal_festival_hall/23_february_2017/inspirations_strauss_and_beethoven
24 February, Auditorio Nacional Madrid: http://www.philharmonia.co.uk/concerts/1650/madrid/auditorio_nacional_madrid/24_february_2017/madrid_salonen_conducts_ravel

Tansy Davies’s Forest – A Concerto for Four Horns has been jointly commissioned by
Esa-Pekka Salonen for the Philharmonia Orchestra's 70th Anniversary
New York Philharmonic: Alan Gilbert, Music Director
International Festival of Contemporary Music Warsaw Autumn’s 60th Anniversary

More Features

More Interviews

More Listening Guides