Friday 3 Apr 2020, 7.30pmSt David's Hall, Cardiff

Venue Box Office: 029 2087 8444

Pablo Heras-Casado conductor

Daniel Kharitonov piano

Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol

Liszt Piano Concerto No. 1


Prokofiev Symphony No. 1, Classical

Stravinsky The Firebird: Suite (1945)

Concert openers don’t get much better than Rimsky-Korsakov’s vibrant portrait of Spain, a barnstorming score closing with a sizzling fandango. Flamboyance and grandeur continue in Liszt’s First Piano Concerto launched by one of the most dramatic openings of any Romantic concerto. Its soloist will be the young Russian Daniel Kharitonov whose 2017 Royal Festival Hall debut prompted Classical Source to declare ‘his potential is tremendous’. There follows Prokofiev’s Haydn-inspired and wonderfully tuneful ‘Classical’ Symphony and Stravinsky’s ravishing orchestral showpiece.