Friday 1 Nov 2019, 7.30pmCambridge Corn Exchange, Cambridge

Venue Box Office: 01223 357851

Santtu-Matias Rouvali conductor

Nikolai Lugansky piano

Sibelius Lemminkäinen's Return

Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 2


Tchaikovsky Swan Lake, excerpts

No need to choose between Finnish legend, a night at the ballet, or an opportunity to hear one of today’s top pianists - Santtu-Matias Rouvali rolls all three into one thrilling concert.

‘Balletic’ is a word that comes to mind when watching Santtu-Matias Rouvali conduct, and tonight he turns to the quintessential ballet composer, Tchaikovsky. Swan Lake richly deserves its place as one of the most popular pieces in the orchestral repertoire. Conjuring up the grace of the swan-maidens, the terrifying power of the villain who has them under his spell, and the pathos of Siegfried and Odette’s doomed love, this is music that lingers long in the memory.

Nikolai Lugansky, a pianist who ‘has the Russian sound at his fingertips’ (Financial Times) is the soloist in Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 2. Opening quietly with twinkling melodies and his trademark light touch, Prokofiev’s expansive concerto balances lyrical solo piano passages with menacing orchestral moments - brought into particular focus in the dramatic third movement. Further raising the musical stakes, the devilish fourth movement moves through the piano's entire range, building to a monumental final flourish..

Sibelius’s Lemminkäinen’s Return opens the programme in evocative fashion, telling of the epic journey home of the legendary Finnish character.


  • Prices: £44; £34; £28; £17 (no view); plus £3 booking fee
  • Discounts: subscription discounts available; under-26s and concession discounts available
  • Running time: 110 minutes, including 20 minute interval
  • Recommended age: from 7+