Tuesday 12 Nov 2019, 7.30pmBedford Corn Exchange, Bedford

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Pablo Heras-Casado conductor

Boulanger D'un soir triste

Ravel Le tombeau de Couperin


Boulanger D'un matin de printemps

Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4, Italian

Celebrate the evocative power of music in a programme alive with Impressionist brush strokes and vivid memories.

“This is Italy! …And I am loving it.” Mendelssohn wrote home to his family – and the unbridled excitement opening his Italian Symphony shares his thrill of the new sights and sounds. The vision of a religious procession in Naples inspired the subtle second movement while the symphony closes with a fiery saltarello dance.

But first, three French works tinged with sadness. Le tombeau de Couperin, Ravel’s take on a Baroque dance suite, is light and playful – but forms a gentle tribute to friends lost in World War I.

Though close to death, Lili Boulanger’s final two orchestral works showcase her masterly control of harmony and orchestration in a burst of creativity. D’un soir triste is dark and passionate, as towering brass flow into delicate cello and celeste melodies, while D’un matin de printemps is carried by fleet-footed woodwind and lush strings to depict a spring morning overflowing with life.


  • Prices: £38; £32; £26; £22; £14
  • Discounts: subscription discounts available; under-16s and concession discounts available
  • Running time: 100 minutes, including 20 minute interval
  • Recommended age: from 7+