Thursday 14 May 2020, 6pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Michael Francis conductor

Colin Currie percussion

Philippe Hurel Quatre Variations for vibraphone and ensemble

Luke Bedford New workworld premiere

Hear one of the most exciting performers in the world bring his formidable virtuosity and charismatic style to the stage, as Colin Currie performs the world premiere of a new work by British composer Luke Bedford.

First, Philippe Hurel’s intriguing Quatre variations for percussion and ensemble. After a mysterious opening in which the solo vibraphone presents the initial musical material, the ensemble begins to interject with rhythmic passages that eventually take over. Often doubled by other percussive instruments like the piano or marimba, the vibraphone becomes embedded in the energetic soundscape, only at times emerging for solo flourishes or for dramatic moments of opposition to the rest of the group.

Finishing the programme, experience the world premiere of a new work by composer Luke Bedford, commissioned by the Philharmonia for this performance.



  • Tickets: This concert is FREE and unticketed - just walk in
  • Running time: 45 minutes, no interval
  • Concert programme: Free programmes are available upon entry
  • Drinks: You can take drinks from the bar into this evening's performance
  • After the concert: Joana Carneiro conducts music by Barber, Copland, Bernstein and Steven Stucky, with violinist Esther Yoo, 7.30pm, Royal Festival Hall



This concert is part of the Music of Today series