Sunday 8 Dec 2019, 3pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Jakub Hrůša conductor

Martin Helmchen piano

Richard Strauss Don Juan

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 22, K.482


Beethoven Symphony No. 4


Jakub Hrůša brings to life worlds of passion and beauty in masterpieces by Strauss and Beethoven.

Opening the programme, Strauss’s muscular Don Juan, a musical retelling of the Spanish legend of the same name, is a 20-minute orchestral powerhouse of a piece. Powerful brass and stormy strings depict Don Juan’s life of seduction and eventual downfall. Written when Strauss was just 24, it was an instant success and established his reputation across Europe.

By contrast, Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony has been unjustly overlooked between the bold Third and Fifth. It features some of the composer’s most attractive melodies, in delicate interplay between light and shade. A brooding opening gives way to a sunny mood that leads into a slow movement so beautiful that Berlioz said it could only have been written by an archangel.

Similarly joyful, Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 22 lies at the heart of the programme, with soloist Martin Helmchen. “The world isn't short of brilliant concert pianists, but Martin Helmchen stands out even in that remarkable crowd,” (Washington Post). 



  • Prices: £58 (premium); £45; £36; £28; £19; £12
  • Discounts: Subscription discounts available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; £8 tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)
  • Age guidance: Children aged 7 and over are welcome at all our concerts. To find concerts at Southbank Centre suitable for younger children, click here
  • Running time: 110 minutes, including 20 minute interval
  • Please note: This concert starts at 3pm

This concert is part of the Sunday Matinees series