Sunday 20 Oct 2019, 3pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Karl-Heinz Steffens conductor

Tamara Stefanovich piano

Brahms Academic Festival Overture

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 27, K595


Mendelssohn Symphony No. 3, Scottish


Tamara Stefanovich – “staggeringly brilliant” (New York Times) – performs Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 27, framed by two Romantic masterpieces.

First performed just months before his death, Mozart’s last piano concerto appears filled with optimism – sparkling piano melodies complement heroic horns and delicate woodwind. But hidden in this music lie moments of real goosebumps: subtle moments of darkness weave their way into the piece, creating the irresistible energy that makes this concerto so well-loved across the world.

Mendelssohn’s dramatic Scottish Symphony was the last of his five symphonies he completed. Enjoy some of the most evocative music he ever wrote, telling a story of transformation. A brooding opening melody travels through soulful inner movements, before returning at the end with brass to create a dazzling finale.



  • Prices: £58 (premium); £45; £36; £28; £19; £12
  • Discounts: Subscription discounts available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; £8 tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)
  • Running time: 110 minutes, including 20 minute interval
  • Please note: This concert begins at 3pm

This concert is part of the Sunday Matinees series