Thursday 16 May 2019, 6pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Venue Box Office: 020 3879 9555

Rebecca Chan violin

Eugene Lee violin

William Bender viola

Ella Rundle cello

Schubert Quartettsatz No. 12 in C minor, D.703

Mendelssohn String Quartet in F Minor

A treat for string quartet fans: Schubert’s Quartettsatz and Mendelssohn’s String Quartet Op.80, composed as a Requiem for his beloved sister Fanny.

The one completed movement of an unfinished string quartet, Schubert’s Quartettsatz burns with a fiery passion – the music perfectly blends carefree violin motifs with moments of powerful drama from the entire ensemble. With his matchless ear for melody, enjoy as Schubert explores the entire expressive range of the instruments.

Mendelssohn’s String Quartet No. 6 evokes a far more personal tragedy, commemorating the death of his sister Fanny – and Felix himself died two months after completing the work. Growing out of a stormy opening movement, the music never finds peace: even the slower third movement is filled with yearning and loss, and the finale returns to the nervous anguish of the beginning.



  • Tickets: This concert is FREE and unticketed - just walk in
  • Running time: 50 minutes, no interval
  • Concert programme: Free programmes are available upon entry
  • Drinks: You can take drinks from the bar into this evening's performance
  • After the concert: In the evening performance at 7.30pm, hear the full orchestra in a programme mirroring the chamber performance – Schubert wrote his Unfinished Symphony at the same time as his Quartettsatz, while Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto showcases the composer’s lyricism at a far happier time of his life. To close, a Brahms masterpiece: his Third Symphony.

This concert is part of the Philharmonia Chamber Players series