Tuesday 22 Jan 2019, 7.30pmBedford Corn Exchange, Bedford

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Santtu-Matias Rouvali conductor

Alice Sara Ott piano

Angie Newman

Sibelius Finlandia

Ravel Piano Concerto in G


Sibelius Valse triste

Sibelius Symphony No. 1

In 2016, Bachtrack hailed “Alice Sara Ott’s startling performance with the Philharmonia, a barnstorming rendition which gripped from first note until last.” She returns to perform Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G, composed after a concert tour of the USA in 1928 and woven through with the sounds of the jazz he encountered there. Sibelius’ Valse triste, a darkly beautiful subversion of the dance, paves the way for his First Symphony. Principal Guest Conductor Santtu-Matias Rouvali brings his irresistible energy to this work full of sweeping melodies, evocative of vast Nordic landscapes.

The music will be interpreted by British Sign Language Interpreter Angela Newman.