Sunday 2 Jun 2019, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Pablo Heras-Casado conductor

Nicola Benedetti violin

Mendelssohn Overture, The Hebrides

Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1


Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4

An opportunity to hear Nicola Benedetti’s interpretation of Bruch’s First Violin Concerto and Tchaikovsky’s fate-laden Fourth Symphony. 

Scottish violinist Nicola Benedetti, known both for her commitment to music education and her fearless playing, is perfectly suited to Max Bruch’s impassioned Violin Concerto No. 1. A recent interviewer described Benedetti as “a woman luminous with purpose, whose unfolding musical intelligence and technical artistry surge from every note” (The Economist).

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 emerged from a particularly troubled period of his life, but he wrote to his patron Nadezhda von Meck ‘I’ve never yet felt such love for any of my things… it seems to me that this symphony is better than anything I’ve done so far’. Between the strident ‘fate’ fanfare of the opening bars and the fiery energy of the finale come a profusion of emotions expressed in memorable melodies and vivid orchestral textures.  



  • Prices: £58 (premium); £45; £36; £28; £19; £12
  • Discounts: Subscription discounts available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; £8 tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)
  • Running time: 130 minutes, including 20-minute interval
  • Before the concert: FREE Music of Today concert, 6pm, Royal Festival Hall

This concert is part of the Spotlight on Strings series