Friday 5 Apr 2019, 6pmQueen Elizabeth Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Jonathan Stockhammer conductor

Wu Wei sheng

Jukka Tiensuu Hehkuu for sheng and ensembleUK premiere

Guoping Jia The Wind Sounds in the Sky for sheng, cello & percussion

Ondřej Adámek Lost Prayer Book for sheng and ensembleUK premiere

An ancient Chinese musical instrument is put in new musical contexts in this fascinating programme for sheng and orchestral ensemble.

Virtuoso Wu Wei has made the Sheng - an ancient Chinese wind instrument - into an innovative force in contemporary music that crosses traditional genre boundaries. In this special Music of Today performance in the Queen Elizabeth Hall, he performs three contrasting works for sheng and orchestral ensemble with the Philharmonia.

Finnish composer Jukka Tiensuu's Hehkuu exploits the different properties of the sheng all the way from shimmering sonorities to high voltage rhythms; Guoping Jia's The Wind Sounds in the Sky fuses traditional Chinese music with elements of Western classical composition.

The programme culminates with a new piece for sheng and ensemble by Czech composer Ondřej Adámek, whose music was described by Ivan Hewett in The Telegraph as "sharp, brilliant". Adamek's highly theatrical music and innovative musical language will create new an entirely new context for sheng and orchestral ensemble.

Ondřej Adámek's New work for sheng and ensemble is jointly commissioned by Philharmonia Orchestra, Ensemble Musikfabrik, Ensemble 2e2m, Asko Ensemble.



  • Prices: £14; £8
  • Discounts: Subscription discounts available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; tickets for students via Student Pulse on sale one month before the concert (limited availability)
  • Running time: 70 minutes, no interval
  • Concert programme: Free programmes are available upon entry

This concert is part of the Music of Today series