Thursday 4 Apr 2019, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Yuri Temirkanov conductor

Denis Matsuev piano

Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 2


Shostakovich Symphony No. 7, Leningrad

Yuri Temirkanov brings a personal connection to the Leningrad Symphony, dedicated to the city whose orchestra he has led for over 30 years.

Whether Shostakovich originally wrote it in response to the Second World War is unknown but from the start of the famous ‘Invasion’ march of the first movement, his symphony resonated with audiences across Russia and beyond. Composed on an epic scale, the music crosses landscapes, from understated string melodies to fierce attacking brass.

Alongside, a virtuosic work by Shostakovich’s contemporary Sergei Prokofiev. Opening quietly with twinkling melodies and his trademark light touch, Prokofiev’s expansive Second Piano Concerto balances lyrical solo piano passages with menacing orchestral moments - brought into particular focus in the dramatic third movement. Further raising the musical stakes, the devilish fourth movement moves through the piano's entire range, building to a monumental final flourish.



  • Prices: £58 (premium); £45; £36; £28; £19; £12
  • Discounts: Subscription discounts available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; £8 tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)
  • Running time: 140 minutes, including 20-minute interval

This concert is part of the Piano Masterworks series