Thursday 21 Feb 2019, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Philippe Herreweghe conductor

Bertrand Chamayou piano

Bach Orchestral Suite No. 3

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 23, K488


Mozart Symphony No. 41, Jupiter, K551

Hear the sound of a 21st century orchestra transformed by conductor Philippe Herreweghe, one of the leading lights in the authentic interpretation of Baroque and Classical music. 

Mozart’s final symphony, given the nickname ‘Jupiter’ by an enterprising London impresario, is regarded by many as the high point of the Classical period. In its fourth movement Mozart pays homage to the music of Bach, and takes contrapuntal writing to new heights in a dazzling five-part fugue.

Bach’s Orchestral Suite No. 3, scored for strings, trumpets, oboes and timpani, is a series of courtly dances – one of which gave us the melody now better known as ‘Air on the G string’. Mendelssohn, a hugely influential advocate for Bach’s music, once played the first movement to Goethe, who said that he imagined ‘a procession of elegantly dressed people descending a great staircase.’

Betrand Chamayou, described by The Guardian as “a remarkable musician, no question”, joins the orchestra for Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 23. Mozart wrote this to perform himself, and it displays the full range of his talent as both composer and performer. Sparkling outer movements frame an Adagio full of tender emotion. 



  • Prices: £58 (premium); £45; £36; £28; £19; £12
  • Discounts: Subscription discounts available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; £8 tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)
  • Running time: 120 minutes, including 20-minute interval
  • Before the concert: FREE Philharmonia Chamber Players concert, 6pm, Royal Festival Hall

This concert is part of the Piano Masterworks series