Sunday 17 Feb 2019, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Jakub Hrůša conductor

Denis Kozhukhin piano

Kodály Dances of Galánta

Grieg Piano Concerto


Dvořák Slavonic Dances, Op.72

Jakub Hrůša conducts the second set of Dvořák’s Slavonic Dances in a programme centred on music of rhythm and dance from Central Europe.

Dvořák wrote his second set of Slavonic Dances at the request of his publisher, who was keen to capitalise on the huge success of the first (conducted by Hrůša on 22 November 2018). Brimming with memorable melodies and vigorous rhythms, their popularity has never waned. 

Kodály’s childhood memories of a Gypsy band and a book of Hungarian dance tunes were the key ingredients for his Dances of Galánta. Soulful woodwind solos make ways for lively dances that whirl faster and faster.

In between, enjoy Grieg’s much-loved Piano Concerto, full of power, poetry and drama – all well within reach of soloist Denis Kozhukhin. His last appearance with the Philharmonia in 2017 “confirmed his place as one of the finest pianists of his generation” (Classical Source).



  • Prices: £58 (premium); £45; £36; £28; £19; £12
  • Discounts: Subscription discounts available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; £8 tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)
  • Running time: 130 minutes, including 20-minute interval

This concert is part of the Piano Masterworks series