Sunday 3 Feb 2019, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Paavo Järvi conductor

Radu Lupu

Beethoven Overture, Coriolan

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4


Rachmaninov Symphony No. 2

***Sold out. Don't want to miss out on more piano masterworks? Book today for Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No. 2 (14 February), and Grieg's Piano Concerto (17 February)***

Radu Lupu makes a rare London appearance in Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4, before Rachmaninov’s ever-popular Symphony No. 2.

The great Romanian pianist Radu Lupu has not given a press interview for 30 years, but his "radiant playing" (The Guardian) speaks for itself. He brings a lifetime of experience to this performance of Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4. Opening with a theme of Mozartian elegance, the work soon reveals a stormier Romantic sensibility.

Rachmaninov’s Second Symphony, and in particular the singing slow movement clarinet melody at its heart, has been an audience favourite since its first performance. Revel in Rachmaninov’s lush orchestral writing under the baton of Paavo Järvi.



  • Please note: Seated tickets for this performance have sold out, though returns may be available nearer the time. Keep up to date on concerts and avoid missing out in the future by signing up to our monthly e-newsletter.
  • Prices: £58 (premium); £45; £36; £28; £19; £12
  • Discounts: Subscription discounts available; under-18s and concessions discounts available
  • Running time: 140 minutes, including 20-minute interval

This concert is part of the Piano Masterworks series

Radu Lupu’s performance is supported by the