Thursday 22 Nov 2018, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Jakub Hrůša conductor

Simon Trpčeski piano

Kabelac The Mystery of Time

Shostakovich Piano Concerto No. 2


Dvořák Slavonic Dances, Op.46

Principal Guest Conductor Jakub Hrůša conducts music by two of his countrymen, alongside Shostakovich’s youthful, popular Second Piano Concerto. 

Before Dvořàk’s ebullient first set of Slavonic Dances, the work that set him on the road to international success, Jakub Hrůša introduces the music of a less familiar compatriot, Miloslav Kabelàč. Acknowledged as a worthy 20th century successor of Dvořàk, Kabelàč was silenced by the 1968 Soviet invasion of Czechoslovakia. 

The Mystery of Time, one of his most compelling works, distils into 25 minutes a musical vision stretching ‘from the infinite past to the infinite future’. Ethereal sounds emerge tentatively from nothing, repeated motifs build up layers in a slow, inexorable crescendo, and then subside back into silence.

Charismatic pianist Simon Trpčeski, described by The Times as playing with “head plus heart, lots of heart”, is an ideal interpreter of Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 2, composed as both graduation showpiece and 19th birthday present for the composer’s son Maxim. High-spirited, playful outer movements frame a slow movement brimming with tenderness.  

“Hrůša’s electrifying conducting… brought out the best from the Philharmonia in terms of energy, style and richness of sound.” Classical Source, October 2017



  • Prices: £58 (premium); £45; £36; £28; £19; £12
  • Discounts: Subscription discounts available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; £8 tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)
  • Running time: 120 minutes, including 20-minute interval
  • Before the concert: FREE MMSF Young Artist Showcase, 6pm, Royal Festival Hall

This concert is part of the Piano Masterworks series