Thursday 27 Sep 2018, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Angela Denoke soprano

Wagner Götterdämmerung: Siegfried's Death and Funeral March

Schoenberg Erwartung


Bruckner Symphony No. 6

Glorious melodies and vivid orchestral colours emerge from dark timpani strokes to open the Philharmonia’s 2018/19 season. 

Across two programmes, Esa-Pekka Salonen makes connections between the music of Wagner, Schoenberg and Bruckner.

In Siegfried’s cataclysmic death scene from Götterdämmerung, Wagner traverses the full range of human emotion, while Bruckner brings a sense of daring into his Sixth Symphony through powerful melodies that grow out of a tingling rhythm in the strings. 

Framed by the two earlier works, Arnold Schoenberg’s Erwartung heralds a new era in music. Schoenberg’s spellbinding sonorities "represent in slow motion everything that occurs during a single second of maximum spiritual excitement".



  • Prices: £58 (premium); £45; £36; £28; £19; £12
  • Discounts: Subscription discounts available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; £8 tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)
  • Running time: 140 minutes, including 20-minute interval
  • Staging: Surtitles will be displayed - please note these are not visible from choir seats
  • Before the concert: FREE Music of Today concert, 6pm, Purcell Room
  • Change of soloist: We regret to announce that Camilla Nylund is unwell and unable to sing Schoenberg’s Erwartung in this performance. We are grateful to Angela Denoke for stepping in at short notice. 

This concert is part of the Salonen Series series