Wednesday 27 Sep 2017, 8pmPalais des Beaux-Arts, Brussels

Venue Box Office: 00 32 2 507 82 00

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Pekka Kuusisto violin

Saariaho Lumière et pesanteur

Sibelius Symphony No. 6


Bjarnason Violin Concerto

Sibelius Symphony No. 7

Sibelius felt his Sixth Symphony was “pure cold water”, while for his Seventh, he expresses the “joy of life and vitality” as he crosses his entire symphonic landscape within a single movement. Inspired by French philosopher and freedom fighter Simone Weil, Kaija Saariaho’s Lumière et pesanteur opens the programmme, alongside a Violin Concerto by Daníel Bjarnason, a composer whom Time Out New York has described as “coming eerily close to defining classical music’s undefinable brave new world”.