Tuesday 26 Sep 2017, 8pmPhilharmonie, Luxembourg

Venue Box Office: (+352) 26 32 26 32

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Pekka Kuusisto violin

Saariaho Lumière et pesanteur

Sibelius Symphony No. 6


Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 1

Sibelius Symphony No. 7

In a highly evocative programme, Esa-Pekka Salonen leads the Philharmonia through a programme framed by Sibelius’ distinctive Sixth and Seventh Symphonies, both shaped by the culture of the composer’s homeland. In between, outstanding violinist Pekka Kuusisto performs Prokofiev’s ethereal Violin Concerto, which opens with a lyrical violin melody before moving into a grotesque Scherzo.