Friday 15 Sep 2017, 4.30pmRomanian Athenaeum, Bucharest

Venue Box Office: +4021 315 68 75

Cristian Mandeal conductor

Boris Berezovsky piano

Enescu Suite for Orchestra No. 2 in C Major op.20

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2


Sibelius Symphony No. 2

Epic, towering, all-encompassing, Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto holds one of the most achingly beautiful slow movements of all time. Premiered just one year after Rachmaninov’s masterpiece, Sibelius’ Second Symphony or ‘Symphony of Independence’ is bold and unconventional with a glorious and colossal finale. Enescu’s Suite for Orchestra, an example of the inventive use of counterpoint, opens the programme.