Thursday 26 Oct 2017, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Royal College of Music Symphony Orchestra

Daniel Kharitonov piano

Kabalevsky Suite, The Comedians, Op. 26

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 1


Shostakovich Symphony No. 1 (Op. 10)

Rachmaninov’s First Piano Concerto reflects all the youthful freshness of a student composer. Shostakovich’s First Symphony, likewise written while he was still a student, received instant worldwide recognition. Shostakovich’s close friend Shebalin lived and worked under the Soviet regime, yet his music remained resolutely optimistic. Meanwhile Kabalevsky focused on writing lighter music for young performers – his playful and mischievous The Comedians suite portrays a group of travelling entertainers.

Who better than the talented young musicians of the Royal College of Music Symphony Orchestra to perform this programme, under the baton of Vladimir Ashkenazy? We are delighted to be collaborating with the RCM on our Voices of Revolution: Russia 1917 series.

This concert is part of the Voices of Revolution: Russia 1917 series