Saturday 4 Nov 2017, 7.45pmThe Anvil, Basingstoke

Venue Box Office: 01256 844 244

Edward Gardner conductor

Mark van de Wiel clarinet

Elgar Overture, In the South (Alassio) (Op. 50)

Phibbs Clarinet Concertoworld premiere


Elgar Symphony No. 1

Edward Gardner conducts a programme which opens with Elgar’s vivid evocation of an Italian holiday. In his First Symphony, Elgar followed the great symphonic tradition while managing to retain his own musical language. The steady march with which the piece opens reappears at crucial moments before being transformed into a triumphant conclusion, while the slow movement contains some of his most beautiful music.

Alongside, enjoy the world premiere of a Clarinet Concerto by Joseph Philbbs, commissioned by soloist Mark van de Wiel, the Philharmonia Orchestra and Malmö Live Konserthus. “Phibbs' writing is brilliantly assured, and his orchestration is not only deft but scintillating.” (Sunday Times, May 2016).