Sunday 11 Feb 2018, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Lahav Shani conductor

Chen Reiss soprano

Mendelssohn Overture, Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage

Richard Strauss 'Wiegenlied' (Op. 41, No. 1)

Richard Strauss Meinem Kinde (Op.37 No.3)

Richard Strauss Ich wollt ein Sträußlein binden (Op.68 No.2)

Richard Strauss Säusle, liebe Myrte (Op.68 No.2)

Richard Strauss 'Morgen!' (Op.27, No. 4)

Richard Strauss Das Rosenband (Op. 36, No. 1)


Mahler Symphony No. 4

‘There is no music on the earth which can ever compare with ours’. So sings the soprano at the close of Mahler’s Fourth Symphony, describing a heaven where angels bake the bread and Saint Peter fishes from a limitless pond. Mahler builds his symphony towards this celestial setting of a poem from Des Knaben Wunderhorn, musically working backwards to forge a path from experience to innocence, complexity to simplicity and so too a journey from earthly life to heaven. Hear it conducted by the newly-announced Music Director of the Israel Philharmonic, Lahav Shani. Alongside, soprano Chen Reiss performs Strauss’ lieder of life and love: ‘And to the shore, the wide shore with blue waves, we will descend quietly and slowly; we will look mutely into each other's eyes and the silence of happiness will settle upon us’ (‘Morgen’).

This concert is part of the Mahler Symphonies series

This concert is supported by the Principal Friends of the Philharmonia Orchestra and the Mahler Syndicate

The performance of Chen Reiss is kindly supported by Manfred and Lydia Gorvy