Thursday 1 Jun 2017, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Gustavo Gimeno conductor

Lawrence Power viola

Ligeti Concert Românesc

Esa-Pekka Salonen Pentatonic Etude

Bartók Viola Concerto


Mahler Symphony No. 1

Mahler’s First Symphony forms his autobiographical testament to the adventures and misadventures of youth, charting his hero’s progress among birdsong, a country dance and a ghostly rendition of the nursery rhyme Frère Jacques before the exhilarating finale of a symphonist come of age. From first to last words, the pages of Bartók’s Viola Concerto were found not quite finished at the composer’s New York hospital bedside, left to be completed by his devoted pupil. Before, Lawrence Power specially performs Esa-Pekka Salonen’s Pentatonic Etude for solo viola, based on the Bartók, as a brief miniature leading into the concerto itself.

Before, hear the next generation of orchestral talent, as the string recipients of the Philharmonia's MMSF Instrumental Fellowship programme perform works by Kodály and Janáček in this free performance