Thursday 23 Feb 2017, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano

Nigel Black horn

Katy Woolley horn

Richard Watkins horn

Michael Thompson horn

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5, Emperor


Davies Forest - A Concerto for Four Horns and Orchestra(London Première)

Richard Strauss Also sprach Zarathustra

A programme of extraordinary musical invention: Beethoven’s heroic ‘Emperor’ Concerto flows from the imperial majesty of its three opening orchestral chords and interspersed bubbling piano lines; while Strauss’ Nietzsche-inspired Also sprach Zarathustra climbs ever-upward from its spell-binding beginning. Alongside, the rhythmically driving, jumping, iridescent sound-world of Tansy Davies.

Tansy Davies’s Forest – A Concerto for Four Horns has been jointly commissioned by
Esa-Pekka Salonen for the Philharmonia Orchestra's 70th Anniversary
New York Philharmonic: Alan Gilbert, Music Director
International Festival of Contemporary Music Warsaw Autumn’s 60th Anniversary

This concert is part of the Salonen/Aimard: Inspirations series