Dvořák Symphony No. 7 & Symphony No. 8

SIGCD183 | January 2010 release.

Dvořák's 7th Symphony sits within the Viennese symphonic tradition, keeping to the traditional structure and forms. However it still contains the composer's trademark Bohemian musical twists, with the scherzo of the third movement strongly marked by the cross-rhythms of the furiant dance.

Dvořák's 8th Symphony is bright, lyrical and optimistic; it is rooted in the landscapes and folksongs of the composer's native Bohemia. The work was composed in Dvořák's rustic retreat in the Bohemian countryside, but received such great acclaim in England that at one point it was known as his 'English' symphony.

This recording is conducted by the Philharmonia's former Principal Guest Conductor and Czech music specialist Sir Charles Mackerras.

  • Symphony No. 7 - I. Allegro maestoso
  • Symphony No. 7 - II. Poco adagio
  • Symphony No. 7 - III. Scherzo: Vivace – Poco meno mosso
  • Symphony No. 7 - IV. Finale: Allegro
  • Symphony No. 8 - I. Allegro con brio
  • Symphony No. 8 - II. Adagio
  • Symphony No. 8 - III. Allegretto grazioso – Molto vivace
  • Symphony No. 8 - IV. Allegro ma non troppo