Philharmonia Voices

Aidan Oliver - Chef de chœur

aidan oliver 0708.jpg

Philharmonia Voices a été formé en 2004 pour interpréter, avec le Philharmonia et des chefs d’orchestre de niveau international, le grand répertoire choral et instrumental. Depuis lors, le choeur s'est imposé comme l'un des chœurs professionnels les plus convaincants à Londres, s’attirant les éloges répétés de la critique pour la richesse de son répertoire en collaboration avec l'orchestre.

Sous Esa-Pekka Salonen, le choeur a connu plusieurs succès notables, en particulier dans le répertoire du 20e siècle et de musique contemporaine.  Des interprétations de Œdipe Roi de Stravinsky, (Sunday Times qualifia ensuite le choeur de «spectaculairement bon»); Gurrelieder de Schoenberg, dont l’enregistrement en direct a été salué par la critique; Il Prigionero, opéra en un acte de Dallapicola, peu montré, a été très applaudi. L’ensemble vocal a également travaillé avec des chefs tels que John Wilson, Kent Nagano, Lorin Maazel, Vladimir Ashkenazy et Christoph von Dohnányi. Parmi les moments forts du choeur à ses débuts, citons les productions mémorables avec le Philharmonia: Mort à Venise de Britten et Le progrès du pèlerin de Vaughan Williams sous la baguette de Richard Hickox.

Les membres de Philharmonia Voices  sont issus de la sélection des meilleurs jeunes chanteurs du pays, la plupart d'entre eux étant soit au début de leur carrière professionnelle, soit en train d'achever leurs études au Conservatoire. Ils travaillent exclusivement avec le Philharmonia, ce qui permet au chef de chœur, Olivier Aidan, d’adapter avec précision et grande flexibilité la composition du groupe vocal aux besoins variés de chacune des collaborations avec l'Orchestre.

Read this page in:

View all concerts featuring Philharmonia Voices

Forthcoming Concerts featuring Philharmonia Voices

Philharmonia Voices

Aidan Oliver director

aidan oliver 0708.jpg

Philharmonia Voices was formed in 2004 to work with the Philharmonia Orchestra and international conductors on performances of the great choral-orchestral repertoire. Since then the choir has established itself as one of the most exciting professional choruses in London, attracting consistently high praise from the critics for its collaborations with the Orchestra in a huge range of repertoire.

Under Esa-Pekka Salonen the choir has enjoyed several notable triumphs, particularly in 20th-century and contemporary repertoire. These have included performances of Stravinsky’s Oedipus rex (after which a Sunday Times review described the choir as ‘spectacularly good’); Schoenberg’s Gurrelieder, subsequently released as a critically lauded live recording; and an acclaimed performance of Dallapiccola’s neglected one-act opera Il Prigioniero. Philharmonia Voices have also worked with conductors including John Wilson, Kent Nagano, Lorin Maazel, Vladimir Ashkenazy and Christoph von Dohnányi. Highlights of the choir’s early history included memorable performances with the Philharmonia of Britten’s Death in Venice and Vaughan Williams’s The Pilgrim’s Progress under Richard Hickox.

The members of Philharmonia Voices are drawn from some of the finest young singers in the country, most of them either at the start of their professional careers or completing their conservatoire studies. Working exclusively with the Philharmonia Orchestra, the size and make-up of the choir is able to be tailored precisely to the varying demands of each collaboration by Chorus Master Aidan Oliver, providing the Orchestra with a choral partnership of unique flexibility.

Read this page in:

View all concerts featuring Philharmonia Voices

Forthcoming Concerts featuring Philharmonia Voices