The Philharmonia is a self governing orchestra whose world class players are both its owners and at the centre of its continuing creativity and innovation. Many have been with the Orchestra for a decade or more. You can find out more about them here. 

There are currently no players in this section.

All the above players are members of the Philharmonia Orchestra. Membership is awarded via an intensive audition and trial period which can last many months, ensuring the Philharmonia secures the very finest musicians. You may notice that there are particular instruments not included on the current members’ list: this may be because this post is vacant and open to trialists. Full details on Orchestra Vacancies.

MMSF Instrumental Fellows

Find out more about the Instrumental Fellowships

Alix Lagasse
The John E Mortimer 1st Violin Award

Emma Oldfield
The Sidney Perry 2nd Violin Award

Henrietta Hill

Yaroslava Trofymchuk

Emre Ersahin
Double Bass

Honorary Members

Riccardo Muti

Vladimir Ashkenazy

Mr David Whelton OBE, Hon FRAM, Hon RCM

In memoriam
Mansel Bebb
Lorin Maazel
Giuseppe Modiano
Daniel Salem
Kurt Sanderling
Hazel Westbury