Martin Musical Scholarship Fund

The Martin Musical Scholarship Fund, administered by the Philharmonia Orchestra, has given invaluable support to countless young musicians since 1968.

Its anonymous founder and benefactor provided enough money to enable exceptionally talented students to bridge the difficult gap between full-time study and professional status.

MMSF award-winners perform six free pre-concert recitals in Southbank Centre's Royal Festival Hall, and also another six in the Purcell Room at Southbank Centre's Queen Elizabeth Hall. These recitals are all free, but those at the Purcell Room do require booking, either through the South Bank or the Philharmonia Orchestra Box Office.

Usually over 60 awards are made each year. For gifted musicians, these awards enable them to either continue or complete an essential period of study that, due to financial constraints, may otherwise have been impossible. The culmination of the Fund’s commitment is to offer the opportunity of a recital at the Purcell Room at Southbank Centre's Queen Elizabeth Hall, which for these talented performers is an inspiring occasion that marks a milestone in their careers.

Many Martin Musical Scholarship Fund award winners have gone on to extremely successful orchestral or solo careers. Alumni include Tasmin Little, Freddy Kempf, Michael Collins, Natalie Clein, Steven Isserlis, Jennifer Pike and Alina Ibragimova. Philharmonia Orchestra players have also been beneficiaries such as current members Byron Fulcher and Mark van de Wiel.

Please note: applications for 2015/16 are now closed and details for future applications will be announced shortly.

We are pleased to announce the 2015/16 Martin Musical Scholarship Fund award winners, listed below:


Stephanie Childress (RCM) | Recital / Sidney Perry award
Molly Cockburn (RCM) | Sidney Perry award
Pablo Hernan (GSMD) | Sidney Perry award
Marta Kowalczyk (RAM) | Recital / Sidney Perry award
Alexandra Lomeiko (RCM) | Sidney Perry award
Mathilde Milwidsky (RAM) | Hurwitz award
Julia Pusker (RAM) | Sidney Perry award


Luba Tunnecliffe (Private study) | Sidney Perry award


Jamal Aliyev (RCM) | Sidney Perry award
Margarita Balanas (RAM) | Recital / Sidney Perry award
Willard Carter (Private study) | Sidney Perry award
Leander Kippenberg (GSMD) | Recital / Sidney Perry award


Ivan Rubido Gonzalez (GSMD) | Sidney Perry award


Jâms Coleman (RAM) | Sidney Perry award
Sophie Dee (GSMD) | Sidney Perry award
Salih Gevrek (RCM) | Sidney Perry award
Mishka Momen (GSMD) | John E. Mortimer award
Arisa Onoda (RAM) | John E. Mortimer award
Costanza Principe (RAM) | Recital / John E. Mortimer award
Alexandra Vaduva (RAM) | John E. Mortimer award


Charlotte Ashton, Flute (RAM/Cologne) | Recital / Sidney Perry award
Hugh Roberts, Flute (RAM) | Recital / Sidney Perry award
Jordan Black, Clarinet (Private study) | June Alison award
Pedro Marchan Correas, Bassoon (RCM) | Recital / Sidney Perry award


Timothy Ellis, Horn (RAM) | Stewart Green award
Ryan Hume, Trombone (RCM) | John E. Mortimer award
Ross Knight, Tuba (Hannover) | John E. Mortimer award


Glain Dafydd (RAM) | Recital / Sidney Perry award
Henriette Poos (RCM) | John E. Mortimer award
Rosanna Rolton (RCM) | Recital / Sidney Perry award


Alun McNiel-Watson (RCM) | John E. Mortimer award
Jack Stone (RAM) | John E. Mortimer award