Composers' Academy

The Philharmonia Composers' Academy, presented in partnership with the Royal Philharmonic Society, and allied to the Orchestra’s prestigious Music of Today concert series, annually offers the opportunity for three talented emerging composers to write an original chamber work for a Philharmonia Ensemble.

Music of Today Artistic Director - Unsuk Chin © Eric Richmond

Music of Today Artistic Director Unsuk Chin

The 2015/16 composers, selected by an extremely competitive adjudication process, were Desmond Clarke, Patrick John Jones and Michael Taplin. Their 10-minute new works were each performed by an ensemble of Philharmonia musicians at a Music of Today concert at the Royal Festival Hall on Thursday 23 June 2016, prior to a full Philharmonia Orchestra concert.

The 2016/17 composers have just been announced as Lisa Illean, Gareth Moorcraft and Donghoon Shin.

In addition to this high-profile performance, the project also allows the composers to be guided through the writing process by Music of Today Artistic Director Unsuk Chin, and benefit from specially programmed seminars, masterclasses, and a ‘works in progress’ workshop.


The Philharmonia's Composers' Academy is generously supported by:

Royal Philharmonic Society logoPRS for Music Foundation logoErnst von Siemens Music Foundation

We are also grateful to the following for their support:

The Leche Trust

RVW Trust