Sunday 28 Feb 2016, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Tugan Sokhiev conductor

Akiko Suwanai violin

Schubert Overture, Rosamunde

Beethoven Violin Concerto


Dvořák Symphony No. 9, From the New World

A virtuosic feast for the ears, Beethoven’s Violin Concerto is one of the central works of the repertoire, this evening performed by the sensational Japanese violinist, Akiko Suwanai. Tugan Sokhiev conducts Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony, inspired by the composer’s experiences of the ‘New World’ of America, yet hints of longing for his distant homeland.

This concert is supported by the Principal Friends of the Philharmonia