Tuesday 3 Mar 2015, 6.45pmAichi Arts Center, Nagoya-shi

Venue Box Office: +81 52 972 0430

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Hilary Hahn violin

Sibelius Finlandia

Brahms Violin Concerto


Sibelius Symphony No. 2

Brahms synthesised the sounds of a solo instrument with music on a symphonic scale in his Violin Concerto, which virtuoso Bronislav Huberman characterised memorably as ‘a concerto for violin against orchestra – and the violin wins!’ Sibelius reportedly held that his music was as 'pure cold water' as opposed to the 'manufactured cocktails' of some other composers. In tonight's concert, we explore the ever-unfolding melodies of the Sibelius's Second Symphony.