Tuesday 24 Mar 2015, 7.30pmThe Courtyard, Hereford

Zsolt-Tihamér Visontay conductor

Mozart Divertimento in B-Flat, K137

Bach Violin Concerto No. 2 in E major, BWV1042


Tchaikovsky Souvenir de Florence

Ahead of 2015's Three Choirs Festival and as a celebration of the festival's 300th anniversary, the Philharmonia Orchestra strings present a special concert at The Courtyard Theatre.

Despite the title, ‘Souvenir de Florence’,  there is nothing specifically Italian about this particular work by Tchaikovsky, however, the title derives from the fact that it was whilst Tchaikovsky was working on his opera 'The Queen of Spades' in Florence. Alongside this wonderful piece, are two classic works by Mozart and Bach for string Orchestra. Bach’s Violin Concerto No. 2 in E Major BWV1042, bares a slight resemblance to his Brandenberg Concerto’s  with his use of tonality and harmony and similarly, while Mozart’s Divertimento in Bb K137, forms one of the composer’s three ‘Salzburg Symphonies'.