Sunday 23 Nov 2014, 7.45pmTrinity Church, Wimbledon, London

Robin O'Neill conductor

Mozart Symphony No. 29, K201

Mozart Bassoon Concerto


Richard Strauss Metamorphosen

Mozart's Symphony No. 29 projects a meaningful personality as well as Mozart's usual effortless craftsmanship and was one of five symphonies written when the composer was just 18. Yearning and contemplative, Strauss's Metamorphosen for 23 solo strings is subtitled In Memoriam and serves here as a fitting tribute to the composer in the 150th anniversary year of his birth in 1864. Composed during the closing months of World War II, as the society Strauss loved was being consumed by conflict, the work is a lament for Germany's destruction and an elegy for the devastating bombing of Munich.