Sunday 29 Mar 2015, 7.30pmChelmsford Civic Theatre, Chelmsford

Zsolt-Tihamér Visontay conductor

Mozart Divertimento in B-Flat, K137

Bach Violin Concerto No. 2 in E major, BWV1042


Mozart Symphony No. 17

Richard Strauss Metamorphosen

The opening of Bach's Violin Concerto resembles the composer's much-loved Brandenburg Concertos, starting with a clear E major triad from which the whole movement springs. Alongside, are two of Mozart's earlier compositions, the spritely Divertimento in B-Flat and his Symphony No. 17 which Mozart completed when he was just 16 years old. Yearning and contemplative, Strauss’s Metamorphosen for 23 solo strings is subtitled In Memoriam and serves here as a fitting tribute to the composer following the 150th anniversary of his birth last year. Composed during the closing months of World War II, as the society Strauss loved was being consumed by conflict, the work is a lament for Germany’s destruction and an elegy for the devastating bombing of Munich.