Monday 23 Feb 2015, 7.30pmBedford Corn Exchange, Bedford

Venue Box Office: 01234 718112

Martyn Brabbins conductor

Serhiy Salov piano

Glinka Overture, Ruslan and Ludmila

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 3


Vaughan Williams Symphony No. 5

The ecstatic virtuosity of Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No. 3 meets the sweeping grandeur of Vaughan Williams's Fifth Symphony, all led by the celebrated British conductor, Martyn Brabbins. Vaughan Williams's symphony began its life as an orchestral version of his as yet unfinished opera, Pilgrim's Progress. However, the end result moved away from anything directly programmatic and instead became a work of shifting harmonies, plaintive horn-calls and quiet melodic beauty - a welcome respite to the destruction of World War II that otherwise surrounded the symphony's creation.

Please note that this concert will no longer be taking place on 26 February as previously advertised.