Tuesday 19 May 2015, 7.30pmAuditorio Nacional Madrid, Madrid

Venue Box Office: +34 91 337 0140

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin

Mendelssohn Overture, Das Märchen von der schönen Melusine

Mendelssohn Violin Concerto


Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5 in E minor

Mendelssohn’s life-enhancing concerto, one of the most enchanting pieces of the Romantic era, creates the impression of having been conceived in one miraculous sweep (in fact it took him six years, on and off).Tchaikovsky opened his Symphony No. 5 with a motif the composer himself suggested signified his "complete resignation before fate".