Venue Details

Jérémie Rhorer conductor

Francesco Piemontesi piano

At the age of 21, Mendelssohn undertook his second ‘grand tour’ of Europe where inspiration struck for an Italian Symphony. Mendelssohn was drawn to, as he put it, the vivacity and “supreme delight in life” found in Italy. The result is a symphony that’s instantly joyous, especially at the leaping Saltarello dance of the finale. Alongside, the quiet beauty of Schumann’s Piano Concerto, which was premièred by Schumann’s wife, Clara, on New Year’s Day 1846.

6.15-6.50pm Join us for a free pre-concert talk in the DMH Garden Suite to find out more about tonight’s artists and delve into the background behind the music.

Other events on this day

Orchestra Unwrapped

Tuesday 12 May 2015, 1.00pm
De Montfort Hall, Leicester

Orchestra Unwrapped is a concert series for schoolchildren aged 7-11 in Leicester and Basingstoke. The programme offers thousands of children the opportunity to experience live music in an engaging and exciting way, accompanied by the educational resources to fully understand it. MORE

Pre-concert talk

Tuesday 12 May 2015, 6.15pm
De Montfort Hall, Leicester

Francesco Piemontesi in conversation with John Florance. FREE admission.
N.B. Please note venue: talk will take place in the Garden Suite at De Montfort Hall MORE