Venue Details

Paavo Järvi conductor

Steven Isserlis cello

As part of a worldwide series over the next two years, Paavo Järvi brings his Nielsen Series to Leicester. Carl Nielsen’s sound world is filled with the forests, seas and mesmerising shorelines of his native Denmark. In 1892, he wrote his First Symphony, which was memorably described by one critic as ‘a child playing with dynamite’. Alongside is the haunting beauty of Elgar’s Cello Concerto, written in 1919 from the composer’s secluded Sussex cottage from where he had heard the sounds of artillery fire booming across the Channel from France.

This concert is part of the Nielsen Series

  • Elgar - Cello Concerto