Tuesday 14 Oct 2014, 8pmConcertgebouw, Bruges

Venue Box Office: +32 70 22 33 02

Nicholas Collon conductor

Alisa Weilerstein cello

Elizabeth Watts soprano

Turnage Passchendaele

Elgar Cello Concerto


Vaughan Williams Symphony No. 3, Pastoral

The Philharmonia opens the Province of West Flanders’ new commemorative festival ‘GoneWest’ with an entirely English programme. Central to this programme is the commemoration of World War I, which ravaged our region 100 years ago. Focus composers Edward Elgar and Ralph Vaughan Williams lived through the war and this left its mark on their later compositions. Elgar wrote his Cello Concerto in 1919 with the horror and the suffering of the war still very fresh in his memory. Ralph Vaughan Williams’ Pastoral Symphony, published just a few years later, is a subtly beautiful elegy for the dead and is sometimes called his War Requiem. The disillusionment and despair of the war resound powerfully in both works. Mark-Anthony Turnage’s Passchendaele looks back on the war from a 21st century perspective. This event is part of Gone West, the Province of West Flanders’ cultural commemoration of World War I. More info on www.gonewest.be