Thursday 9 Apr 2015, 7.45pmThe Anvil, Basingstoke

Venue Box Office: 01256 844 244

Paavo Järvi conductor

Martin Helmchen piano

Haydn Symphony No. 88

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5, Emperor


Nielsen Symphony No. 4, The Inextinguishable

Haydn’s symphony is a mature and impressive work, with playful fast movements and a solemn and expressive Largo, in which trumpets and drums make a sudden appearance. Beethoven’s last piano concerto is his most brilliant and powerful. The two extrovert outer movements are balanced by an inward-looking slow movement, which moves into the finale with a simple but magical transition. The name of Nielsen’s symphony refers to “the force of life which cannot be suppressed”. Written during the dark days of the First World War, it pulsates with astonishing musical power in the outer movements, which contrast with the more pastoral and nature-inspired inner two, before building to a radiant conclusion.