Friday 12 Jun 2015, 7.30pmThe Marlowe, Canterbury

Venue Box Office: 01227 787787

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Esther Yoo violin

Sibelius Karelia Suite

Glazunov Violin Concerto in A minor (Op. 82)


Sibelius Symphony No. 2

Sibelius once described his music as “pure, cold water”, in contrast to the “manufactured cocktails” that other composers produced. His glorious music was loved around the world, whilst giving an entire nation its identity. In this series marking the composer’s 150th Anniversary, Vladimir Ashkenazy conducts a moving season finale featuring two of Sibelius’s most treasured works alongside Glazunov's rhapsodic Violin Concerto.

This concert is part of the Ashkenazy Sibelius Series series