Saturday 11 Oct 2014, 7.30pmThe Marlowe, Canterbury

Venue Box Office: 01227 787787

Nicholas Collon conductor

Alisa Weilerstein cello

Elizabeth Watts soprano

Britten 'Four Sea Interludes', Peter Grimes

Elgar Cello Concerto


Vaughan Williams Symphony No. 3, Pastoral

From Elgar's impassioned nostalgia to Vaughan Williams’s haunting eloquence, tonight’s programme focuses on two works that meditate upon the appalling carnage of the First World War. Opening the concert is music written at the close of the Second World War, Britten's 'Four Sea Interludes', which paint a picture of the ever-changing face of the sea, from the eerie calm of dawn to the fury of a final storm.