Venue Details

Nicholas Collon conductor

Alisa Weilerstein cello
Elizabeth Watts soprano

From Elgar's impassioned nostalgia to Vaughan Williams’s haunting eloquence, tonight’s programme focuses on two works that meditate upon the appalling carnage of the First World War. Opening the concert is music written at the close of the Second World War, Britten's 'Four Sea Interludes', which paint a picture of the ever-changing face of the sea, from the eerie calm of dawn to the fury of a final storm.

  • Elgar - Cello Concerto
  • Vaughan Williams - Symphony No. 3, Pastoral