Friday 28 Mar 2014, 7pmGreat Hall of Moscow Conservatory, Moscow

Venue Box Office: (+7 495) 629-81-83

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Steven Page baritone

Allan Clayton tenor

Henry Waddington bass baritone

Sally Silver soprano

Daniel Norman tenor

Shostakovich Orango (orch. Gerard McBurney)


Shostakovich Symphony No. 4

Orango is an unfinished satirical opera by Shostakovich, sketched while he was writing Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District. He and his librettists conceived ‘a political lampoon against the bourgeois press’ involving a human-ape hybrid, but when the librettists failed to deliver their script in time for the planned 15th anniversary of the Revolution, the whole thing was dropped. Of the projected Prologue and three acts, only the 40-minute Prologue was completed in piano vocal score, which was discovered as recently as 2004 in a Moscow archive and subsequently orchestrated by the British composer Gerard McBurney. Esa-Pekka Salonen conducted the world première with the Los Angeles Philharmonic in December 2011. Alongside, infused with the influence of Mahler, is Shostakovich's Symphony No. 4, which was written just after the ill-fated Lady Macbeth but did not in fact see its première until 1961.