Sunday 28 Jun 2015, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Christoph von Dohnányi conductor

Arabella Steinbacher violin

Lawrence Power viola

Bartók Divertimento for String Orchestra

Mozart Sinfonia Concertante for Violin and Viola, K364


Beethoven Symphony No. 7

Bartók’s effervescent Divertimento, written shortly before his departure to the USA, opens the final concert of the 14/15 season, creating the perfect foil for Mozart’s much-lauded masterpiece, Sinfonia Concertante. The climax comes in the second half featuring Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony – a work full of rhythmic vitality that was described by Richard Wagner as ‘the apotheosis of the dance’. Its glorious slow movement featured in the Oscar-winning The King’s Speech.