Sunday 19 Apr 2015, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Eric Silberger violin

Scriabin Rêverie

Mozart Violin Concerto No. 5, K219


Tchaikovsky Manfred Symphony

Rarely heard in concert, Tchaikovsky’s gripping Manfred Symphony was inspired by Lord Byron’s poem regarding a guilt-ridden mountain dweller who summons seven spirits in the vain hope they might help him forget the past. The music’s surging power takes the listener on an unforgettable emotional journey, from inconsolable despair to supreme elation.

This concert was originally to have been conducted by Maestro Lorin Maazel, who sadly died in July 2014. The repertoire remains almost exactly as he programmed it.