Venue Details

Juraj Valčuha conductor

Jonathan Biss piano
Olena Tokar soprano
Kai Rüütel mezzo soprano

The festive season begins with tonight’s concert, coupling the suite from Humperdinck’s Hänsel und Gretel with Strauss’s good-humoured high farce about two young lovers, Der Rosenkavalier. The opening work, also by Strauss, set the musical world on fire in 1888. In less than 20 minutes of music, Strauss stretches the limits of what a symphony orchestra is capable of with a finale that will, quite simply, knock your socks off.