Sunday 2 Nov 2014, 3pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Jakub Hrůša conductor

Julia Fischer violin

Glinka Overture, Ruslan and Ludmila

Glazunov Violin Concerto in A minor (Op. 82)


Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 2 in C minor, Little Russian (Op. 17)

‘The Mighty Five’ explores the resurgence in Russian nationalism that took place toward the end of the 19th century. The first in a pair of concerts explores the music of the founders of the Russian National movement, led by Glinka. The opening work is his whirlwind overture to Ruslan und Ludmilla, followed by Glazunov’s captivating Violin Concerto, combining winning melodies with sparkling virtuosity. Tchaikovsky’s Little Russian Symphony, which incorporates folk melodies of the Ukraine (‘Little Russia’), was applauded enthusiastically by the members of the ‘Mighty Handful’: ‘The whole company almost tore me to pieces with delight’, Tchaikovsky wrote to his brother.

This concert is part of the series

This concert is supported by an anonymous donor