Venue Details

Tugan Sokhiev conductor

Khatia Buniatishvili piano

A captivating fantasy programme that contrasts Berlioz’s groundbreaking Symphonie fantastique, climaxing in an orgiastic, opium-fuelled witches’ Sabbath, with Beethoven’s overture Coriolan, written for Heinrich von Collins’ play of the same name, telling the story of the gallant Roman general, Coriolanus, destroyed by his overweening pride. Separating these pieces is a work by Berlioz’s long-time admirer, Liszt, who once transcribed the Symphonie fantastique for piano in an effort to have it heard by more people.

This concert is supported by an anonymous donor

  • Berlioz - Symphonie fantastique Buy on: Amazon